

September 16, 2015

## **For Immediate Release**

Treasurer Milligan Announces Winners of Arkansas 529 GIFT Plan Accounts 75 County Award Drawing

Media Contact: Grant Wallace

Phone: 501-682-5734 (o)/501-580-3869 (m)

Email: grant.wallace@artreasury.gov

Little Rock, AR- Treasurer of State Dennis Milligan announced the winners of the 75 County Award drawing for the Arkansas 529 GIFT Plan during an event at the State Capitol. At the event awardees from counties all across the state were able to accept a proclamation from the Governor declaring September College Savings month, and accept their \$529 Arkansas 529 account from Treasurer Milligan.

Awardees and their respective counties are listed below:

William	Closson	Arkansas
Rebecca	Smith	Ashley
Beth	Snooks	Baxter
Angela	Eaves	Benton
David	Fuchs	Boone
Payton	Sledge	Bradley
Jerry	Burress	Calhoun
Diane	Jones	Carroll
Marc	Haney	Chicot
Rebbekkah	Hughley	Clark
Carolyn	Morrisett	Clay
Matthew	Irwin	Cleburne
Susan	Starks	Cleveland
Sarah	Shepherd	Columbia
Michelle	Phillips	Conway
Linda	Kellim	Craighead

Crawford Curt Dieter Crittenden Philip Vaughn Cross Brooke **Douglas** Rachell Sorrells **Dallas** Clarissa Hughes Desha Barbie Johnson Drew Nikki Faulkner Pierce Shae Johnson Franklin Seth Jones Fulton Brandon Garland Hamrick Donnita Tubbs Grant Chad Miller Greene Jolene lockhart Hempstead Brandon Davis **Hot Spring** Lindsey White Howard

Independence

Richardson Gary miller john Izard Stackhouse Jackson Evelyn Jefferson Rebecca Gorman Jeff Bush Johnson Marcia Teague Lafayette Debbi Wallace Lawrence Kyleigh Glass Lee Zetty Raney Lincoln Little River Lonni Dollarhide David Rhineheart Logan Nicholina Shelton Lonoke Tara Box Madison Billy Marion Lively Douglas Miller Lisa Stanley Parks Mississippi Williams Abby Monroe Dye Karen Montgomery Tammie Ward Nevada Mikayla Young Newton Parham Ouachita Cicely Mary Neal Perry

Phillips Kym Sykes Pike Sara McKinney Angela Lowery Poinsett Ashton Herod Polk Andrea Coffman Pope Madison Hill Prairie

Pulaski Connie Toland Andrew Morledge Randolph Margie Adams St. Francis Michelle Butler(Medsker) Saline David Harrison Scott McCollum Ashlev Searcy Hunter Allen Sebastian Judy Johnson Sevier Becky Edwards Sharp Jennifer **Fowlkes** Stone Cheryl Corely Union Constance Eades Van Buren Tim Newberry Washington Christy English White Justin Hite Woodruff Yell Bethany Light

Milligan stated, "It has been a top priority since taking office to promote and grow the Arkansas 529 College Savings program. I am grateful for the efforts of the committee and Executive Director Beth Anne Rankin on the 75 County Award Drawing."

"A post-secondary education whether in a four-year, two-year, technical or vocational institution is essential to an individual's future success. I am committed to ensuring our children and grandchildren have access to that education by promoting the idea of starting to save early," Milligan continued.

The Arkansas 529 College Savings program includes The GIFT Plan and iShares investment options. Unlike traditional savings vehicles, the Arkansas 529 savings plans can help your college savings grow tax-deferred through an investment strategy tailored to your investment schedule, risk tolerance and management comfort. The plans offer the flexibility to use the funds at any eligible, accredited public or private two-year or four-year college, university, vocational or technical institution worldwide. In Arkansas, an individual can receive up to a \$5,000 (or \$10,000 per couple) annual state income tax deduction. The withdrawals for the beneficiary are tax free for qualified expense and initial contributions can be as low as \$25.

For additional information go to <a href="https://www.arkansas529.org">www.arkansas529.org</a>, or review the attached program overview.